BLACK HISTORYwise covers the history of slavery, including the emancipators as well as leading Black luminaries. Illustrated by Rik Cheetham, this dynamic educational tool can be used by teachers in all subjects on the national curriculum. The stimulating interactive classroom projects have biographical information on key figures in politics, the civil rights movement, sport and the arts. There is also a unique collection of graphic images of some of the greatest Black achievers of the 20thand 21st centuries.


Topics cover the world. Pupils are asked to look up the meaning of “Apartheid”; by listening to Bob Marley, they can discuss how music can create change. They study thought-provoking quotes from activists, such as Muhammad Ali: “Champions aren't made in gyms… They have to have the skill, and the will. But the will must be stronger than the skill.” Pupils find out where the words “Land of the free and home of the brave” come from; they write campaign speeches in support of a political candidate – and then deliver it to the class.

Black Historywise Education Pack



    Youth Charter Dame Mary Glen Haig Office of

    Sport for Development and Peace,

    London Stadium Learning, London Stadium, 

    Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, E20 2ST

    United Kingdom


    +44 (0) 7904 339 935


    UK Registered Charity        

    Charitable Incorporated Organisation


    United Nations Accredited  

    Non Governmental Organisation

    © 2021 Youth Charter

    Facebook logo.png
    twitter logo.png
    YouTube logo.png

    Honorary Life President

    The Late Dame Mary Glen Haig DBE*

    Former Presidents

    The Late Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG, CB, CVO, OBE, TD

    The Late Lord Terry Thomas CBE

    Founder and Chair

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    *In Perpetuity

    Vice Presidents

    Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

    Pearly Gates

    Judge Goldstone

    Sir Alex Ferguson CBE

    Clive Lloyd CBE

    Judge Gabrielle Kirk McDonald

    Lord Herman Ouseley

    Sir Steve Redgrave CBE

    Dame Sarah Storey DBE

    Lemn Sissay MBE

    Sir Rodney Walker

    Frank Warren


    Elaine Banton

    Mark Barratt

    Juliet Donoghue

    Nadine Dyer

    Peter Ibsen

    Phil McCauley

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    Chris Sayers

    Ronnie Todd