The Youth Charter’s 2012 Games Legacy Report reflects a four year consultation process spanning the London 2012 games and it formative legacy years. It represents one of the most diverse and universally inclusive debates, discussions and dialogue on how a true, lasting and above all a sustainable legacy can be realised.


The 2012 Games Legacy Report will challenge the social, economic and political issues, as well as set out how the Olympic and Paralympic movements, and the Commonwealth, can contribute to the social and human development of all our communities in Manchester, London and Glasgow, and around the world. This report will provide, as well as set out, the unique social and cultural challenges and opportunities faced by the modern Olympic and Paralympic movements, the Commonwealth Games and other global, national and local sporting and cultural events.

YC 2012 Games Legacy Report (2014)



    Youth Charter Dame Mary Glen Haig Office of

    Sport for Development and Peace,

    London Stadium Learning, London Stadium, 

    Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, E20 2ST

    United Kingdom


    +44 (0) 7904 339 935


    UK Registered Charity        

    Charitable Incorporated Organisation


    United Nations Accredited  

    Non Governmental Organisation

    © 2021 Youth Charter

    Facebook logo.png
    twitter logo.png
    YouTube logo.png

    Honorary Life President

    The Late Dame Mary Glen Haig DBE*

    Former Presidents

    The Late Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG, CB, CVO, OBE, TD

    The Late Lord Terry Thomas CBE

    Founder and Chair

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    *In Perpetuity

    Vice Presidents

    Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

    Pearly Gates

    Judge Goldstone

    Sir Alex Ferguson CBE

    Clive Lloyd CBE

    Judge Gabrielle Kirk McDonald

    Lord Herman Ouseley

    Sir Steve Redgrave CBE

    Dame Sarah Storey DBE

    Lemn Sissay MBE

    Sir Rodney Walker

    Frank Warren


    Elaine Banton

    Mark Barratt

    Juliet Donoghue

    Nadine Dyer

    Peter Ibsen

    Phil McCauley

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    Chris Sayers

    Ronnie Todd