This qualification is solely awarded by 1st4sport Qualifications as the recognised awarding organisation regulated by Ofqual in England and Northern Ireland and Qualifications Wales in Wales. 


The technical content for this qualification has been developed in partnership with the Youth Charter as the leading industry representatives in this domain. The Youth Charter was born out of the social deprivation, alienation, disaffection, anti-social and gang related activity that led to the death of 14 year old school boy Benji Stanley in January 1993. Since that time, the Youth Charter’s philosophy, mission, aims and objectives have been reflected in their attempt to recognise the role of sport and activity in its broadest social and cultural definition as a social vehicle of change. For further information, visit: 


The qualification and its components are listed on the Register of Regulated Qualifications; component details are contained in the appendix to this specification. This qualification is equivalent to Level 4 on the European Qualifications Framework (EQF). Further information about the EQF can be found at: 


YC SCLP 1st4Sport SCLP Qualification



    Youth Charter Dame Mary Glen Haig Office of

    Sport for Development and Peace,

    London Stadium Learning, London Stadium, 

    Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, E20 2ST

    United Kingdom


    +44 (0) 7904 339 935


    UK Registered Charity        

    Charitable Incorporated Organisation


    United Nations Accredited  

    Non Governmental Organisation

    © 2021 Youth Charter

    Facebook logo.png
    twitter logo.png
    YouTube logo.png

    Honorary Life President

    The Late Dame Mary Glen Haig DBE*

    Former Presidents

    The Late Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG, CB, CVO, OBE, TD

    The Late Lord Terry Thomas CBE

    Founder and Chair

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    *In Perpetuity

    Vice Presidents

    Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

    Pearly Gates

    Judge Goldstone

    Sir Alex Ferguson CBE

    Clive Lloyd CBE

    Judge Gabrielle Kirk McDonald

    Lord Herman Ouseley

    Sir Steve Redgrave CBE

    Dame Sarah Storey DBE

    Lemn Sissay MBE

    Sir Rodney Walker

    Frank Warren


    Elaine Banton

    Mark Barratt

    Alison Burchell

    Juliet Donoghue

    Nadine Dyer

    Peter Ibsen

    Phil McCauley

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    Chris Sayers

    Ronnie Todd