The Youth Charter was born in 1993 in response to the tragic loss of 14 year old school

boy Benji Stanley, who was shot dead on the streets of Moss Side, Manchester and has

since attempted to provide alternative social and cultural activity benefits through sport,

arts and lifestyle choices. What is not known is how closely the respective fortunes of

young people in two separate continents, in two cities as remote in distance as

Moss Side and Soweto would, through their similar social and cultural barriers be

“provided with an opportunity through tragedy to develop in life through sport”.


As cities of sporting and musical power, their respective love of Soccer is also evident

with both cities the home of leading Premiership Clubs in Manchester City and United and

The Orlando Pirates and Keiser Chiefs in Johannesburg. Both Manchester and

Johannesburg aimed to regenerate their respective cities through the Olympic and

Commonwealth Bidding and hosting of Major Games.


The Youth Charter’s birth seemed almost inevitable, as the issue of youth exclusion and

social and cultural deprivation provided as many challenges as they did opportunities.

With social unrest and riots also identified within ‘the tale of two cities’, the cultural

divides have always explored the role of sports recreational and leisure potential to foster

greater social and cultural cohesion between people of different race, culture, religion

or gender.

YC '12' South Africa Report Preview



    Youth Charter Dame Mary Glen Haig Office of

    Sport for Development and Peace,

    London Stadium Learning, London Stadium, 

    Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, E20 2ST

    United Kingdom


    +44 (0) 7904 339 935


    UK Registered Charity        

    Charitable Incorporated Organisation


    United Nations Accredited  

    Non Governmental Organisation

    © 2021 Youth Charter

    Facebook logo.png
    twitter logo.png
    YouTube logo.png

    Honorary Life President

    The Late Dame Mary Glen Haig DBE*

    Former Presidents

    The Late Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG, CB, CVO, OBE, TD

    The Late Lord Terry Thomas CBE

    Founder and Chair

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    *In Perpetuity

    Vice Presidents

    Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

    Pearly Gates

    Judge Goldstone

    Sir Alex Ferguson CBE

    Sir Clive Lloyd CBE

    Judge Gabrielle Kirk McDonald

    Lord Herman Ouseley

    Sir Steve Redgrave CBE

    Dame Sarah Storey DBE

    Lemn Sissay MBE

    Sir Rodney Walker

    Frank Warren


    Elaine Banton

    Mark Barratt

    Alison Burchell

    Juliet Donoghue

    Nadine Dyer

    Peter Ibsen

    Phil McCauley

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    Chris Sayers

    Ronnie Todd