top of page

There is growing evidence that educational non attainment, alienation, disaffection and the resulting social exclusion can lead to an anti social gang related youth culture that is criminally gangsterised as well as radicalised in its behaviour. This has an adverse impact not only on the social and economic well-being of a community, city and nation, but also a wider affect on the social and cultural cohesion of the nation as a whole.


The Youth Charter is calling for a more inclusive society with opportunities for all, where young people are valued not stigmatised or marginalised. The greatest opportunity of promoting the benefits of 21st century citizenship, rights, responsibilities, multiculturalism and a healthy and active lifestyle, through a diverse and socially inclusive medium that promotes a positive feeling of self worth and contribution to the wider community lies within the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

YC 2012 Legacy Manifesto (2011)

    bottom of page