The Youth Charter 2016 Games Legacy Impact Report is a four-year review of the social and human development legacy activity with young people and communities locally, nationally and internationally. 


Following the London 2012 Games Legacy Pledge to ‘Inspire a Generation’, the Youth Charter hosted the 2012 Games Legacy Debate, bringing together young people from Greater Manchester face to face with a panel representing sport, arts, education and business. The chair was the Rt. Hon John Bercow MP, Speaker of the House of Commons. The discussion centred on how a ‘legacy opportunity 4 all’ could be truly equitably diverse and inclusive. 


The debate inspired the Youth Charter 2012 Games Legacy Report, which provided 46 recommendations and a road map leading up to and including the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Later, at the Youth Charter 2013 Games Legacy Forum, the public, private, third sector and community organizations plus young people in particular came up with suggestions for a UK-inclusive approach to break down social, cultural and economic barriers.

YC 2016 Games Legacy Impact Report - Executive Summary (2017)



    Youth Charter Dame Mary Glen Haig Office of

    Sport for Development and Peace,

    London Stadium Learning, London Stadium, 

    Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, E20 2ST

    United Kingdom


    +44 (0) 7904 339 935


    UK Registered Charity        

    Charitable Incorporated Organisation


    United Nations Accredited  

    Non Governmental Organisation

    © 2021 Youth Charter

    Facebook logo.png
    twitter logo.png
    YouTube logo.png

    Honorary Life President

    The Late Dame Mary Glen Haig DBE*

    Former Presidents

    The Late Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG, CB, CVO, OBE, TD

    The Late Lord Terry Thomas CBE

    Founder and Chair

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    *In Perpetuity

    Vice Presidents

    Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

    Pearly Gates

    Judge Goldstone

    Sir Alex Ferguson CBE

    Clive Lloyd CBE

    Judge Gabrielle Kirk McDonald

    Lord Herman Ouseley

    Sir Steve Redgrave CBE

    Dame Sarah Storey DBE

    Lemn Sissay MBE

    Sir Rodney Walker

    Frank Warren


    Elaine Banton

    Mark Barratt

    Alison Burchell

    Juliet Donoghue

    Nadine Dyer

    Peter Ibsen

    Phil McCauley

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    Chris Sayers

    Ronnie Todd