The Youth Charter, in collaboration with CBBC, invited schools to participate in a FREE preview event to the annual CBBC Summer Social Festival, which was held on the Piazza at MediaCityUK on the 7th – 9th July 2017.


The CBBC Summer Social Schools event was delivered as part of the development of the ICZ MediaCityUK Community Campus. The ICZ MediaCityUK Community Campus in Salford, provides a great example in the potential of multi-agency working. Developed as part of the University of Salford’s 50th Anniversary year to build stronger collaborations in four key areas of sport, health and wellbeing, creative and digital and industry and business, the Youth Charter’s Community Campus provided an ideal model in engaging the young people and wider community that reflects the social and cultural heritage of the university and its origins.

YC 2017 CBBC Summer Social Report (2017)



    Youth Charter Dame Mary Glen Haig Office of

    Sport for Development and Peace,

    London Stadium Learning, London Stadium, 

    Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, E20 2ST

    United Kingdom


    +44 (0) 7904 339 935


    UK Registered Charity        

    Charitable Incorporated Organisation


    United Nations Accredited  

    Non Governmental Organisation

    © 2021 Youth Charter

    Facebook logo.png
    twitter logo.png
    YouTube logo.png

    Honorary Life President

    The Late Dame Mary Glen Haig DBE*

    Former Presidents

    The Late Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG, CB, CVO, OBE, TD

    The Late Lord Terry Thomas CBE

    Founder and Chair

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    *In Perpetuity

    Vice Presidents

    Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

    Pearly Gates

    Judge Goldstone

    Sir Alex Ferguson CBE

    Clive Lloyd CBE

    Judge Gabrielle Kirk McDonald

    Lord Herman Ouseley

    Sir Steve Redgrave CBE

    Dame Sarah Storey DBE

    Lemn Sissay MBE

    Sir Rodney Walker

    Frank Warren


    Elaine Banton

    Mark Barratt

    Alison Burchell

    Juliet Donoghue

    Nadine Dyer

    Peter Ibsen

    Phil McCauley

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    Chris Sayers

    Ronnie Todd