top of page

The Youth Charter ‘22’ Tenniswise Report provides a unique social and cultural review of the past, present and future tennis provisions for our young people and their communities, locally, nationally and internationally.


Tennis is a traditional sport in the UK, with the annual Wimbledon Championships providing British Tennis with global prestige and recognition. However, at a social, grass-roots and cultural level, tennis has often been seen as a white middle class sport, lacking mass participation appeal, diversity and inclusion in the UK’s most diverse and disaffected communities.


As the National Governing Body for tennis in the UK, The Lawn Tennis Association (LTA) has set about responding to this challenge with a British Tennis Strategic Plan for 2015 to 2018. This new plan is focussed on increasing the number of people playing tennis and enriching people’s lives through the sport.

YC '22' Tenniswise Report (2015)

    bottom of page