There is a fragmented approach to delivery of youth and community sport programmes. And these programmes are mainly being delivered to communities rather enabling communities to be able administer, manage and deliver their own community sport clubs and programmes. This lack of community ownership will mean that they are not sustainable in the long term.


The limitations of the current youth development structures in British sport highlight the need for radical change. This change needs to be philosophical, as well as, structural. The central focus should not be producing ‘medal winners’ or ‘international standard athletes’, but rather on producing ‘well rounded people that can contribute positively to the society’. This philosophical shift, combined with structural changes, would see UK sport produce the highest standards of excellence in and out off competition. The Youth Charter provides a Cultural Framework for how this can be delivered.


Please see link to the committeee report: Tackling Physical Inactivity - A Coordinated Approach (2014)

YC Healthwise submission to the All-Party Commission on Physical Activity (2013)



    Youth Charter Dame Mary Glen Haig Office of

    Sport for Development and Peace,

    London Stadium Learning, London Stadium, 

    Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, E20 2ST

    United Kingdom


    +44 (0) 7904 339 935


    UK Registered Charity        

    Charitable Incorporated Organisation


    United Nations Accredited  

    Non Governmental Organisation

    © 2021 Youth Charter

    Facebook logo.png
    twitter logo.png
    YouTube logo.png

    Honorary Life President

    The Late Dame Mary Glen Haig DBE*

    Former Presidents

    The Late Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG, CB, CVO, OBE, TD

    The Late Lord Terry Thomas CBE

    Founder and Chair

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    *In Perpetuity

    Vice Presidents

    Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

    Pearly Gates

    Judge Goldstone

    Sir Alex Ferguson CBE

    Clive Lloyd CBE

    Judge Gabrielle Kirk McDonald

    Lord Herman Ouseley

    Sir Steve Redgrave CBE

    Dame Sarah Storey DBE

    Lemn Sissay MBE

    Sir Rodney Walker

    Frank Warren


    Elaine Banton

    Mark Barratt

    Alison Burchell

    Juliet Donoghue

    Nadine Dyer

    Peter Ibsen

    Phil McCauley

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    Chris Sayers

    Ronnie Todd