top of page

The London 2012 legacy in its present form will not provide increased levels of participation amongst the general public because of its fragmented approach.


The limitations of the current youth development structures in British sport highlight the need for radical change. This change needs to be philosophical, as well as, structural. The central focus should not be producing ‘medal winners’ or ‘international standard athletes’, but rather on producing ‘well rounded people that can contribute positively to the society’. This philosophical shift, combined with

structural changes, would see UK sport produce the highest standards of excellence in and out off competition. The Youth Charter provides a Cultural Framework for how this can be delivered.


Please see link to the Committee Report - Keeping the flame alive: the Olympic and Paralympic Legacy (2013).

YC submission to London 2012 Olympic & Paralympic Legacy inquiry (2013)

    bottom of page