The Youth Charter’s Float Like A Butterfly Social Coach Leadership Programme is the culmination of a 17-month dialogue, discussion and debate on the issues of social, cultural and economic affect and impact on the disaffection, disadvantage and disillusionment of the young people of Newham and the East End of London.


UEL hosted Newham’s Youth Movement’s ‘Addressing Safety through Active Participation’ (ASAP) Conference on 27 January 2018 with support provided by the Civic Engagement team. This was a youth planned and led response to the escalating violence in Newham. The event was attended by young people, service deliverers and decision makers. Geoff Thompson, new Chair of the Board of Governor UEL, joined the panel, which included the local authority, a local councillor, Chair of Local

Children’s Safeguarding Board and the Metropolitan Police.


During this conference a number of young people presented the issues of anxiety and fear following the shooting of their friend Corey Junior Davis, a 14 year old schoolboy gunned down in a park in Newham on September 4th 2017, Geoff Thompson pledged to provide:


  • Somewhere To Go (where they would be safe and taken off the streets),
  • Something To Do (with sporting, artistic, cultural and digital activities) and
  • Someone To Show Them (how to develop their mental, physical and emotional life skills resilience)

YC UEL SCLP Workshop Report (2019)



    Youth Charter Dame Mary Glen Haig Office of

    Sport for Development and Peace,

    London Stadium Learning, London Stadium, 

    Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, E20 2ST

    United Kingdom


    +44 (0) 7904 339 935


    UK Registered Charity        

    Charitable Incorporated Organisation


    United Nations Accredited  

    Non Governmental Organisation

    © 2021 Youth Charter

    Facebook logo.png
    twitter logo.png
    YouTube logo.png

    Honorary Life President

    The Late Dame Mary Glen Haig DBE*

    Former Presidents

    The Late Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG, CB, CVO, OBE, TD

    The Late Lord Terry Thomas CBE

    Founder and Chair

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    *In Perpetuity

    Vice Presidents

    Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

    Pearly Gates

    Judge Goldstone

    Sir Alex Ferguson CBE

    Clive Lloyd CBE

    Judge Gabrielle Kirk McDonald

    Lord Herman Ouseley

    Sir Steve Redgrave CBE

    Dame Sarah Storey DBE

    Lemn Sissay MBE

    Sir Rodney Walker

    Frank Warren


    Elaine Banton

    Mark Barratt

    Juliet Donoghue

    Nadine Dyer

    Peter Ibsen

    Phil McCauley

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    Chris Sayers

    Ronnie Todd