The Model CHOGM Manchester provided students from schools in Greater Manchester with the opportunity to learn about the Commonwealth, its politics, history and much more.


The Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), is held every two years, with leaders of the Commonwealth meeting to discuss current issues affecting the Commonwealth and its many diverse citizens. The last CHOGM was held in London in April 2018. It is this important international event that we hope to emulate through Model Commonwealth Summits, or ‘Model CHOGMs’.


Model CHOGMs operate much like a model UN scenario, with individuals acting as the Heads of various Commonwealth countries and engaging in discussions as their country would.


Through a highly interactive experience, the main aims of the summit are to enable young people to:


  • Learn about the Commonwealth and how an international organisation work
  • Experience international relations and building a global agreement on issues
  • Raise awareness of key topical international issues and different countries’ perspectives
  • Demonstrate the role of the media in the political process

YC Model CHOGM Manchester Report (2018)



    Youth Charter Dame Mary Glen Haig Office of

    Sport for Development and Peace,

    London Stadium Learning, London Stadium, 

    Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, E20 2ST

    United Kingdom


    +44 (0) 7904 339 935


    UK Registered Charity        

    Charitable Incorporated Organisation


    United Nations Accredited  

    Non Governmental Organisation

    © 2021 Youth Charter

    Facebook logo.png
    twitter logo.png
    YouTube logo.png

    Honorary Life President

    The Late Dame Mary Glen Haig DBE*

    Former Presidents

    The Late Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG, CB, CVO, OBE, TD

    The Late Lord Terry Thomas CBE

    Founder and Chair

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    *In Perpetuity

    Vice Presidents

    Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

    Pearly Gates

    Judge Goldstone

    Sir Alex Ferguson CBE

    Clive Lloyd CBE

    Judge Gabrielle Kirk McDonald

    Lord Herman Ouseley

    Sir Steve Redgrave CBE

    Dame Sarah Storey DBE

    Lemn Sissay MBE

    Sir Rodney Walker

    Frank Warren


    Elaine Banton

    Mark Barratt

    Alison Burchell

    Juliet Donoghue

    Nadine Dyer

    Peter Ibsen

    Phil McCauley

    Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

    Chris Sayers

    Ronnie Todd